NaBloPoMo: It Is Time

time-travel-evidence

 

It was only last November that I put aside all of my failied novels that I could never finish, and instead began my blogging journey…and it has certainly been an amazing year of writing!

I was able to figure out how to carve out time for writing every week, and still get homeschooling, meals and events (and sometimes a shower!) finished during the day.

I went to the BlogHer14 convention and walked away with amazing tips for writing, and a better appreciation for my own writing.  I am no longer feeling like I am catching up to other writers with imposter-syndrome, but I feel genuinely comfortable writing…and reading other people’s writing without feeling competitive!  That is always a tough hurdle to crawl over.

So this season we are beginning with the NaBloPoMo

 

 

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_prompts

link to blogroll

Monday, November 3

Write about an amazing imaginary brand or organization you’d love to work with. What would their pitch to you look like? What would your post say?

Tuesday, November 4

What is your favorite holiday memory? (And yes, you can pick any holiday, including your birthday.)

Wednesday, November 5

Do you feel you have found your voice on your blog? What techniques have you tried to develop your voice in your writing? What are some characteristics of your personality in your writing?

Thursday, November 6

Do you consider yourself a “professional” blogger? Why or why not? What does that mean to you?

Friday, November 7

Where is the one place you would never want to go on vacation that other people seem to love?

Monday, November 10

What knowledge do you have that others don’t? Write a “how to” post about anything you’ve got skills for, small or large.

Tuesday, November 11

If you could permanently get rid of one worry, what would it be?

Wednesday, November 12

Have you ever had extended writer’s block? How long did it last? What did you do to break out of it, and do you have tips for other bloggers?

Thursday, November 13

What is the one skill you see in other bloggers that you wish you had?

Friday, November 14

Do you enjoy growing old or do you fight against it?

Monday, November 17

Take a post or scene you’ve written and find a new way in by rewriting with another angle.

Tuesday, November 18

Tell us about one time that you benefitted from the kindness of strangers.

Wednesday, November 19

Are you the funny one in most groups? What kinds of things do you find funniest?

Thursday, November 20

Do you have a book in you? Fact or fiction? Related to your blog or totally different?

Friday, November 21

What is the one appliance you can’t live without?

Monday, November 24

What’s your favorite headline/blog post title you’ve ever written? What was the hardest post to title?

Tuesday, November 25

You are given unlimited funds and a fabulous team of programmers and told to create your own social networking platform.Tell us all about your ideal, fictional social media site.

Wednesday, November 26

What is the most controversial thing you’ve ever written on your blog? What compelled you to write it?

Thursday, November 27

Where do you see your blog in one year? Five years?

Friday, November 28

If you could be a cast member on any television show, which one would it be? Tell us about your character.

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s